Dad’s De Soto

18 Jan

A story in 420

I told Vern about the car. The motor was fast. He didn’t believe me. So we took it out for a ride. He was driving. I told him go up to 70. It was automatic with a push button shift, no stick. I said to drop it from drive to 2nd, then put his foot to the mat. It lifted the front end right off the road. It scared him so bad that he took his foot off the gas, brought the speed down to 35. He kept it there. We turned off the 401 at Thickson, took service road back home at 30. It scared Vern so bad. I didn’t say a word. Didn’t have to.

5 Responses to “Dad’s De Soto”

  1. mj monaghan January 18, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    Nicely done. That seems difficult to do. How long did you write?

    • Patricia DeWit January 18, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks. The ideas go around my head for days, then I write. Most of the time is in the edits. Chop chop chop. But what a good feeling when it reads ’420 characters’.

      • peterdewit January 24, 2012 at 7:14 am #

        I like driving fast and wish i could do a wheelie in my Chev!

      • Patricia DeWit January 25, 2012 at 10:21 am #

        Ya, you’d have to ask my dad about that. :)

  2. Mary February 23, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    I almost want to try that, haha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

